Other

This, too, shall pass.

Satan attacked these past 2 weeks and I fell- twice.

I was filled with discontentment, envy and pity. I compared myself to other people and looked at the things I haven’t accomplished. I began to set my eyes solely on the things I could or in my case couldn’t see in my physical world; no car, no permanent job, no house and no husband in sight.

The first time these feelings came, I prayed and just when I thought I’d gotten the victory, something else happened and I fell back into those same evil thought process.

It’s so easy to fall when God’s truth is replaced with the enemy’s lies. I almost started to see God as unjust and unfair. I also began to feel sorry for myself.

What I’ve found in my Christian walk is that there’s a difference between knowing scriptures and applying those same scriptures, especially when temptations arise. I didn’t apply the scriptures. I tried, but when it didn’t seem to work, I gave up so easily.

But praise God for Jesus and the Word of God. Luke 12:29-32 says God’s got us. The most important thing in life is to seek God and His kingdom. Verse 32 says God is pleased to give us the Kingdom, that is, righteousness, peace, joy, humility and all things that exalts and honours Christ. It also says we’re God’s little flock! How amazing!

However, the enemy’s job is to tempt and make us stumble. He doesn’t care how one is feeling on a particular day, he is the constant and relentless tempter. He’s described as a “roaring lion looking for someone to devour” in 1 Peter 5:8. If he catches you slipping, he’s onto you. And he pounces hard.

Luke 21:34 advises us to be careful, so we don’t get weighed down by the anxieties of life. It’s so easy to feel weighed down, especially in this day and age. We are told in verse 36 to always be on our guard and to pray. But how often do we murmur instead of pray?

By God’s grace, revelation of God’s truth set in when I picked up the Bible and read it. I was reminded to fix my eyes not on what is seen, but what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary but what is unseen is eternal (2 Corinthians 4:18). I was challenged to run the Christian race with perseverance (Hebrews 12:1). I was reminded that my life is hidden with Christ in God! (Colossians 3:1-4).

It’s such a great reminder to know that the fleeting things of the world doesn’t matter, only Christ does!

Look out for the next post “Things that cause discontentment.”

Leave a Reply

